Is this the largest family in Victoria?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA A number of years ago during my decoupage class I was talking with a fellow ‘cut and paster’ about my other hobby of genealogy; how I had 54 first cousins, to which she replied that her father was one of 35 children.

“All to the same mother?” I asked astounded.  “Yes”, was the reply.  “Were there a number of multiple births within the family? My stumbling mind tried to grasp the facts.  She replied, “No, but her grandmother began having her children at 15 years of age.”  A quick calculation 15 plus 35 equals 50 – that is if a child is born every single year, but if a year was missed the mother would have likely to have been older than 50 when her child bearing was over.

My classmate went on to speak with her friends and I did not get a chance to question her further about her father’s remarkably large family.  Was this the largest family in Victoria?  Were they even born in Australia – I do not know, but I have never heard of such a large family before.  The largest families in my own tree maximized at 16 children.

Does anyone else have tales of remarkably large families to the one couple?

About BeesKnees2013

Interested in family history research.
This entry was posted in Large families, Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

