Found!

It is exciting to make an unexpected find and I can now cross off one of the persons on my “whatever happened to” list.

I was looking on familysearch.org (which now has more records than previously) as I could not quickly find my printed records of Pyes in the County of Staffordshire for the 16th & 17th century.

My search criteria also brought up a list of Pye couples & their fathers from the 19th century.  Amongst this list was Eliza Pye the daughter of Isaac Pye.  I had searched the census records for years and not found Eliza in the censuses except the 1861 census when she was 9 years of age.  Familysearch’s record showed Eliza had married Edward Chilton in 1885.  So then I found Eliza and Edward Chilton in the 1891, 1901 and 1911 censuses and when they died.

However, this still left the question of why was there no record for Eliza Pye in the 1871 and 1881 censuses.  Therefore, with a bit of lateral thinking, I did a search for Eliza born 1852 Stafford and left the surname blank.  And the result for 1871 was a servant listed as just “Eliza” no surname; the correct age and place of birth and in the right district.  So I may have found Eliza Pye for 1871.  For 1881 I found no clear results but she may have been listed as “Eliza Hemmings”, Hemmings being her step-father’s surname.

One name crossed off the “Still to find” list, but many more yet to find.

About BeesKnees2013

Interested in family history research.
This entry was posted in Pye, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

